Archive for February 1st, 2012

Daily Devotion from the Church Health Center – 1 Corinthians 9:19-22

Wednesday, February 1, 2012 – Epiphany 5, Year B

1 Corinthians 9:19-22For though I am free with respect to all, I have made myself a slave to all, so that I might win more of them. To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though I myself am not under the law) so that I might win those under the law. To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law) so that I might win those outside the law. To the weak I became weak, to that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that I might by all means save some.

Have you ever had a friend you described to others with the line, “That person can get along with anyone!” It takes a special person to consistently meet people where they are in a genuine, non-judgmental way. I think this is what Paul is asking of us in this passage.

Prayer: Understanding God, help us embrace each other’s diversity as well as our own uniqueness. AMEN.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,305 other subscribers
February 2012
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829